Tips, news, and services for e-book authors and indie publishers

Chronicle Books Continues a Bestselling Roll With “Goodnight Construction Site”

Rating: none

review by BB

Three children’s books from Chronicle Books have reached a combined 297 total weeks on the New York Times’ Children’s Picture Book Bestseller list.

Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site, written by Sherri Duskey Rinker and illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld, first appeared on the New York Times’ Children’s Picture Book Bestseller list on May29, 2011, climbing to the #1 spot a total of 26 times, first on Jan. 29, 2012. On March 16, 2014 the book will have been on the list for 126 total weeks. Rinker and Lichtenheld’s sophomore release Steam Train, Dream Train, which was published in the spring of 2013, has spent 41 total weeks on the New York Times’ Children’s Picture Book Bestseller list. Press Here, written by French author Hervé Tullet in March 2011, is currently at 130 weeks on the list.

“Having one book on the list for so many weeks is notable; having three in the Top 10 for so long is phenomenal,” said Ginee Seo, Chronicle Books’ children’s publishing director. “Every generation creates its own classics. This milestone goes to show that Chronicle Books has published a new wave of classics, which will delight new generations of youngsters for years to come.”

Duskey Rinker’s first book Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site rose from the infamous “slush pile” to the #1 spot on the New York Times’ Children’s Picture Book Bestseller list. Duskey Rinker was inspired to create these bedtime stories by the tireless (literally!) obsessions of her two energetic, inquisitive boys.

“I’m deeply touched that my books are meaningful to so many children and their families,” Duskey Rinker said. “I still remember the evening when Chronicle called to tell me, just a couple of weeks after Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site was released, that it had debuted on the New York Times. It was an unbelievable moment. And seeing my name on that list, or any bestseller list, is, well, incredible.”

Press Here is a unique picture book about the power of imagination and interactivity. Each page of this engaging book instructs the reader to press the dots, shake the pages and tilt the book. Dots multiply, change direction, and even grow in size. It’s the power of imagination that has kept this adorable book at the top of the list for
130 weeks.

The success of the books have inspired a personalized collection of related gifts available exclusively online. Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Steam Train, Dream Traincan now create a personalized growth chart, wall art, lunch box, or placemat featuring art from the books, or a full version of either book with a photo and custom dedication page.

Posted on April 7, 2014 in E-books